- For Wisconsin students only.
- Student completes at their own pace and on their own device.
- May complete in as little as 3 weeks or maximum of 90 days.
- 30 hour course. State law allows students to complete 2 hours max per day.
- Recommended that students be 14 years and 9 months old.
- If students have questions help will be provided.
Summary of the Drivers Education Process
- Wisconsin state law requires students to complete 30 hours of classroom or online instruction.
- Students are encouraged to study the WI Motorist Handbook which is located on the DMV website.
- Students obtain their permit at the DMV when they are at least 15 years old.
- In order to get their permit students will need: original birth certificate, social security card, Form 3001 (provided by Street Smarts instructor), and $35 permit fee.
- State law requires 6 hours of behind the wheel training and 6 hours observing for anyone under 18 years of age.
- Students are eligible for their license when they turn 16 years old, have held their permit for at least 6 months, and have completed drivers education.